Pokemon Go Launches Kanto Celebration Event

Ruben Fields
April 11, 2018

Pokemon GO is about to get some impressive new updates.

Mew has arrived in Pokemon GO and to celebrate Niantic is pushing out a brand new event focused on Gen 1 Pokemon. Still have Dratinis from the last Community Day? These will include Raid Passes at a discount, so if you're looking to do more raids you'll want to get the calculator and credit card out.

Starting at 1pm PT/4pm ET/9pm UK (April 11 at 6am AET) Pokemon from the Kanto region will appear more frequently in Pokemon Go.

Also an encouragement for trainers to get their Kanto Medal to Gold to progress in Mew quests (seeing as this event may be to cater to the newer or returning players).

William and Kate's third baby to be born in St Mary's Hospital
As the Duke and Duchess of Cambridge decided not to learn the sex of the child, bets will be settled on the male and female names. Temporary parking restrictions were placed outside the hospital on April 9 where Kate Middleton , 36, will give birth this month.

The new event has now begun in the United Kingdom, although fans may have to wait until tomorrow to get all the best bonuses. This requires you to register 100 Kanto Pokemon in your Pokedex, so the event that's going on now should go a long way toward making this dream a reality.

You'll also get 2x Candy for capturing and transferring Pokemon during the time the event is active.

Even if no Shiny reports come in today, Niantic could always release them throughout the event, like they have done with past celebrations.

For the first time, the Pokemon GO Community Day will feature a Gen 2 Pokemon, Mareep, the cuddly electric sheep. (Not sure if there will be more Kanto themed raids, as they are hinted on an announcement by the Pokemon website as well, nor if any of them will feature a shiny).

Other reports by

Discuss This Article

FOLLOW OUR NEWSPAPER