Former world number one Pliskova smashes hole in umpire's chair

Clay Curtis
May 17, 2018

Former world No. 1 Karolina Pliskova blew up at the Italian Open, smashing her racket several times on the umpire chair in frustration after a blown call ultimately decided her fate in the second round.

The world number six had a number of run-ins with Mrozinska during the heated encounter and now faces a heavy fine from the WTA.

Sakkari won the game and then served out the match to win 3-6 6-3 7-5.

The Czech athlete has racked up more than $11 million in prize money despite never winning a grand slam title to date, but has managed to take home 10 Women's Tennis Association tournament trophies in her career to solidify herself as a top name in the profession.

Ramazan moon sighted, holy month to begin from May 17
As per the website, the moon's age will be 26 hours and 45 minutes today and will remain on the sky for 59 minutes after sunset. Scores of Islamic faithful usually commemorate the month-long period with dawn-to-dusk fasting and prayers.

The scene sparked when both the linesperson and umpire couldn't spot Pliskova's ball mark in the clay with the deciding set tied at 5-5.

Pliskova put away a simple smash which seemed to land on the line to give her a point to lead 6-5. The ball, which was clearly in, was ruled out.

Sakkari visibly winced as Pliskova vented her fury, taking several steps backwards before the Czech had stormed off, before shaking the umpire's hand.

The decision prompted fury from fans online, some calling for the umpire to be removed from their position, whilst some claimed Pliskova went too far in her actions.

Other reports by

Discuss This Article

FOLLOW OUR NEWSPAPER