Amy Mickelson says Phil offered to WD on Saturday

Tanya Simon
June 18, 2018

Commentating on the incident for Fox, former Ryder Cup captain Paul Azinger said: "That's the most out of character I have ever seen Phil. It was just a moment of madness, but nothing disrespectful", said Johnson. But it also could have resulted in a disqualification, something that the rules committee of the U.S. Golf Association chose not to consider.

Phil Mickelson admitted he was happy to accept a two-shot penalty for hitting a moving ball, but he denied claims of disrespect to the US Open.

Walking off the course after a day of carrying scoreboards for another twosome, Henry Lilly and Connor Smith said they were astounded at Mickelson's actions.

But Davis said steps would be taken to insure there was no repeat of the 2004 US Open at Shinnecock, where the greens dried out over the weekend to the extent that some were virtually unplayable.

After a nice drive into the fairway, he hit his approach to the right of the green some 35 yards from the hole. He offered that he knows the rules and that taking a two-shot penalty was better than the alternative.

When asked to explain why he felt the need to prevent his ball running off the green, he added: "It was going to go down in the same spot behind the bunker, and I wasn't going to have a shot".

Mickelson finished the round with an 11-over 81, and 17-over for the tournament.

"That's where we clarified that 'Phil, you make a stroke at a moving ball, so we have to apply that rule'".

Brazil set to change their captain for Switzerland match
Brazil will want three points to start their run to the final, while Switzerland would likely be happy with a point. While Brazil has enough talent to go far without him, they'll need Neymar to continue that form to win it all.

Despite some calls for him to withdraw from the tournament, Mickelson displayed his usual cheerful demeanor inside the ropes with Fowler. Golf seems to be working out just fine for him though.

Oh, and it's Phil's birthday today, too, though you can't really tell; he's the one giving us all of the gifts.

John Bodenhamer, the USGA's managing director of championships and governance, took on the thorny question of Mickelson's wonderful swipe at his moving ball on the 13th green.

This is one of the more surprising things you'll see.

The 2007 Masters champion and 2015 British Open victor told Sky Sports the USGA had "lost the golf course", meaning the course had become out of control and a lottery because of the rising wind and slippery green conditions.

"I feel like they've kept it on the correct side". And if somehow you don't, well here you go.

Only five players in history have won the career grand slam - Gene Sarazen, Ben Hogan, Gary Player, Jack Nicklaus and Tiger Woods. Mickelson then missed the next one before finally making a putt for what would have been an eight.

Other reports by

Discuss This Article