Samsung’s texting app apparently sent pictures to people’s contacts without permission

Ruben Fields
July 3, 2018

According to posts on Reddit and Samsung's official support boards first spotted by Gizmodo, the devices affected include the Galaxy S9 and Galaxy Note 8.

"Last night around 2:30 am, my phone sent [my girlfriend] my entire photo gallery over text but there was no record of it on my messages app".

Some Samsung smartphone users have reported that their devices randomly sent photos to their contacts without their knowledge and without a trace.

Frighteningly, the app doesn't even show users that the files have been sent - they're only finding out when they get a response from the recipient of the random photos. Errors included scheduled text messages ending up in the wrong threads. The update was meant to improve its capabilities by switching from the existing SMS protocol to the more capable RCS (Rich Communication Services).

The Verge talked to a Samsung spokesperson who said they are "aware of the reports" and that their technical teams are "looking into it". Until then, there are two easy fixes for the concerned users: 1.

Trump on trade: European Union 'possibly as bad as China'
European Union threatens to retaliate in growing trade war, if the United States places tariffs on European cars, the FT reports. This would only be aggravated by the likely counter-measures the 28-nation bloc and other trading partners might take.

Samsung and T-Mobile didn't immediately reply to CNET's requests for comment.

Samsung says it is investigating the issue, which may be caused by an update to the texting app Samsung Messages. How and when that happens, is still unclear, but it is not limited to a specific carrier, as customers of both T-Mobile and AT&T have experienced this new "feature".

This can be done by going to Settings - Apps - Samsung Messages - Permissions - Storage.

There are now two fixes if you are anxious about the issue affecting your device.

If you're using Samsung's Messages software, and are anxious about unapproved picture texts, find the application in the apps section of your device's settings, then go into its permissions, and disable access to storage.

Other reports by

Discuss This Article

FOLLOW OUR NEWSPAPER