I was surprised Ronaldo left Madrid -Messi

Tanya Simon
September 5, 2018

Meanwhile, NAIJ.com had earlier reported that Barcelona star Lionel Messi has been excluded from the podium for FIFA's Best award after the final shortlists were leaked.

Though his team didn't win anything, the Egyptian walked away with all the individual honors a player could win in the Premier League, including the Golden Boot and the Player of the Year award.

Portugal winger Ronaldo, the 2016 and 2017 victor, won a fifth Champions League title with Real Madrid in May before joining Juventus for 99.2m pounds.

Speaking on Thursday, after beating Cristiano Ronaldo and Mohamed Salah to win the 2017-18 UEFA Player of the Year award, Modric said that he is was happy to continue Real Madrid.

The Liverpool star is joined by Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal, Juventus) and Luka Modric (Croatia, Real Madrid).

He won four Champions League titles with the Galacticos to bring his tally to five and became the most successful player in the history of the club competition.

Los Angeles prosecutors not moving forward with Kevin Spacey sex assault case
The former House of Cards star has been accused by multiple men of sexual assault and misconduct during the #MeToo movement. Spacey was artistic director at London's The Old Vic theatre between 2004 and 2015.

Ronaldo, who completed a €100m move to the Bianconeri from Real Madrid in the summer, earns three times more than anyone else in Italy's top-flight.

Messi has been linked with a move away from Barcelona over the years due to his status as, arguably the best player in world football.

Messi and Ronaldo are the only players to have won the annual Federation Internationale de Football Association award since 2008, taking five each. Modric's role in leading Croatia to the final and his importance to Real Madrid's latest Champions League run served as a catalyst for his place, and he could well win the award.

The women's player of the year award will be contested between Olympique Lyonnais duo Ada Hegerberg of Norway and Dzsenifer Marozsan of Germany, who enjoyed an unbeaten league season and lifted the Women's Champions League, and Brazil's triumphant Copa America Femenina captain Marta. Pep Guardiola of Manchester City was not shortlisted.

Holland's Sarina Wigman, Lyon's Reynald Pedros and Asako Takakura of Japan are in contention for the women's coach prize.

Other reports by

Discuss This Article