Nintendo Switch Online launches September 18 with one-week free trial

Ruben Fields
September 13, 2018

Individual membership is separated into three tiers: $3.99 for one month; $7.99 for three months and $19.99 for 12 months.

North America's Direct kicks off at 3 PM PT / 6 PM ET, while Europe's stream begins at 11 PM BST. Additionally, a 12-month family plan will be available for $34.99 which lets a Nintendo account holder invite up to seven others to join their group and all will have access to Nintendo Switch Online. The subject of the Direct will still be upcoming Nintendo Switch and Nintendo 3DS games, and the presentation is expected last around 35 minutes.

Nintendo revealed this morning that its next Nintendo Direct presentation has been rescheduled for tomorrow, September 13.

How and When to Watch Apple Event Debuting New iPhone
But the reaction so far isn't as heated as it was when Apple announced it was doing away with the headphone jack back in 2017. This could be the iPhone that finally persuades the hundreds of millions of people holding on to old iPhones to upgrade.

As an important aside, Nintendo Accounts will be permanently linked to Nintendo Switch user accounts after the Nintendo Switch firmware update.

Nintendo had previously revealed that the Nintendo Switch would eventually require an online subscription similar to PlayStation Plus and Xbox Live in order to play games online.

But the cloud saving details leaked out anyway, as did the name of the new Yoshi game, a new Ubisoft party game, and reveals of Civilization VI and Final Fantasy XV: Mobile Edition for Switch.

Other reports by

Discuss This Article

FOLLOW OUR NEWSPAPER