Facebook may soon bring `Unsend` feature on Messenger

Ruben Fields
October 15, 2018

Facebook has yet to officially comment on the matter, but considering the likes of WhatsApp and Gmail already let you unsend messages, it wouldn't be a surprise if the feature was made live to the masses in the near future. In that case, there is still record that you did send a message and that you deleted it.

Tipster Jane Manchun Wong tweeted screenshots Friday of what appears to be the prototype. She also added that users can only send a message in a certain amount of time after they send. You will get the options to delete it or unsend it.

In the photo, it showed that when you edit a message sent in a discussion, the Unsend Message shows up on top of Delete Message. The feature will work exactly how the delete message work for WhatsApp application.

The implementation seems to be easy: long press on the sent message will pop up an option to unsend or delete the message.

Inside Princess Eugenie's royal wedding
The Dean of Windsor, David Conner, will marry the couple while the Archbishop of York, John Sentamu, will lead the prayers. George's Chapel at Windsor Castle, the same venue at which Prince Harry and Meghan Markle got married earlier this year.

But it is not the first time that Facebook implemented such capacity. Rather, you will see a note stating that the said message was removed. The newly found evidence shows the new feature is in the making. It may not be the same as Snapchat's self-destruct feature.

Instagram has a similar feature. Instagram refers to the new feature as "Facebook Location History" and describes it as a method of tracking the Global Positioning System location of a user using Facebook's tools.

There's no word on when exactly will Facebook roll-out this feature to all the users, so until then, stay alert and think twice when sending a message to someone on Facebook Messenger.

Other reports by

Discuss This Article

FOLLOW OUR NEWSPAPER