Jose Altuve ruled out after controversial fan interference

Tanya Simon
October 18, 2018

Then, he saw the signal: He was out, and couldn't believe it. First of all, the fan clearly interfered with Mookie Betts' attempt to make the catch.

According to MLB Rule 3.16, "When there is spectator interference with any thrown or batted ball, the ball shall be dead at the moment of interference and the umpire shall impose such penalties as in his opinion will nullify the act of interference". "All of a sudden, it wasn't even a double, it was an out".

Halfway through the game, the fan in question told the Houston Chronicle: "I'm going to need security to escort me out of here if the Astros don't come back to win this". That ruling made Springer return to first and sent Altuve to the dugout as the second out of the inning. "I understand it's not easy to make that call". Young fireballer Josh James went three-and-two-thirds giving up three runs including a two-run homer to Jackie Bradley, Jr. In replays, a fan did indeed reach for the ball, but it appeared that it was over the fence and into the stands.

After the game, West was asked about the call and decision to uphold it after replay, and his response was simple. It happened in the first inning, when Caldwell tried to catch a ball coming down near his seat in the right-field stands, explains USA Today.

Betts added, "That was a ball I could catch". It's hard to tell if Betts reached into the stands or the fans reached over the wall or if they met directly at the wall.

A fan who identified himself as Troy Caldwell, insisted he wasn't reaching out over the fence when the ball hit his hand.

The play came on the same day Major League Baseball cleared the Astros of any wrongdoing after a credentialed Houston employee was caught pointing his cellphone into the opposing dugouts during playoff games in Cleveland and Boston.

Anxious about ‘untenable’ situation, BJP gets minister MJ Akbar to quit
He thanked Prime Minister Narendra Modi and external affairs minister Sushma Swaraj for the opportunity to serve the country. Meanwhile, Ramani asserted that she is looking forward to the day when she will get justice in the court too.

Altuve had both hands on his helmet in disbelief while standing on second base, where he stopped when the play ended.

"He just said there was fan interference on the field", Hinch said of umpire Joe West's explanation to him for the call.

"Jose pays the biggest price because the trajectory of the ball looked like it was going to leave the ballpark".

"I'm not sure if Mookie makes that catch". "Changed that whole inning". From there, the ball touched a fan before coming back onto the field.

Red Sox manager Alex Cora said, "It was right away, (West) called it right away".

They didn't, and now are facing elimination.

Other reports by

Discuss This Article

FOLLOW OUR NEWSPAPER