Red Sox get 3 Gold Glove winners

Tanya Simon
November 7, 2018

He ties D-backs first baseman Paul Goldschmidt for the most in franchise history with three.

Jackie Bradley Jr. took home his first Gold Glove Award, Ian Kinsler won his second, and Mookie Betts won his third straight while two other Red Sox players (Mitch Moreland and Andrew Benintendi) fell just short. He is the first AL pitcher to win four Gold Gloves in a five-year span since Kenny Rogers won four of five from 2002-06.

Unfortunately for Smoak and the Jays, though, Oakland's Matt Olson, who was spectacular almost all season long, was given the award, also edging out Mitch Moreland of the Boston Red Sox, who himself won a Gold Glove Award in 2016. It was the fourth tie in the history of the award. In 2013, Rawlings added a sabermetric component to the Rawlings Gold Glove Award selection process as part of its new collaboration with the SABR.

Corey Dickerson has been named as the Rawlings Gold Glove victor for National League left fielders. It was a tough year with two injuries, but my love for the game helped me to stay strong.

Beyonce Endorses Beto O’Rourke on Election Day
When asked why she chose to support O'Rourke at the polls, Aguirre told the reporter, "Because he represents everything that Donald Trump isn't".

The Cubs have now had a Gold Glove Award victor in each of the last three seasons.

Arenado led National League third basemen in total chances (430), putouts (104), assists (312), double plays (44), defensive runs above average (8.1) and total zone fielding runs above average (16) while ranking second in fielding percentage (.967) and third in zone rating (.794).

Each manager and up to six coaches on his staff vote from a pool of qualified players in their league, and can not vote for players on their own team.

Other reports by

Discuss This Article