Facebook Messenger will let iPhone users unsend messages

Ruben Fields
November 9, 2018

Messenger users will soon be able to delete their sent messages.

Back in April, with Facebook still reeling from the Cambridge Analytica scandal, the company came under fire after it was discovered to be unsending messages sent from company executives, including Mark Zuckerberg, to other users. This was in the release notes for version 191.0 of the iOS version of Messenger.

While the 10-minute window is rather unforgiving, the new feature will nonetheless be a welcome addition, although no specific time frame for the rollout has been announced.

Porsche gives sneak peek at new 911 prototype
Porsche has finally previewed the next-generation Porsche 911 in a set of pictures before its official launch. By the time testing is complete, the cars have been driven for around three million kilometres in total.

According to The Verge, Facebook has been testing the feature since at least this past October, when it first spotted in Messenger.

Compared to Facebook other messaging application, you'll actually have significantly less time to delete a sent message in Facebook's flagship Messenger app. WhatsApp users are now afforded just over one hour to remove a message from both users' inbox. Gmail actually holds the email in a que for the time interval chosen. Facebook's unsend for both its messaging apps will actually deliver the message when you hit send.

You'll have to notice the mistake pretty quickly if you want it erased from the digital world; but nevertheless, it's possible now.

Other reports by

Discuss This Article

FOLLOW OUR NEWSPAPER