Blake Snell, Jacob deGrom win 2018 Cy Young Awards

Tanya Simon
November 15, 2018

Scherzer also posted the best strikeout rate, strikeout-to-walk rate and lowest WHIP in the league, while tying for the NL lead with 18 wins. DeGrom toppled Scherzer in a landslide, taking home 29 of the 30 first-place votes (with Scherzer securing the other).

Jacob deGrom's historic season with the Mets received an exclamation point Wednesday, when the ace right-hander was named victor of the National League Cy Young award in a landslide victory.

He made the All-Star team this year as a late addition after going 12-5 with a 2.27 ERA in the first half, but a DL stint in mid-July with shoulder fatigue seemed to ruin any chance at the Cy Young Award. Scherzer had the other first-place vote.

Speaking on Wednesday night after being awarded his first Cy Young, deGrom said he is still "trying to figure everything out" after Van Wagenen gave up his career as an agent to deGrom, Yoenis Cespedes, Todd Frazier and others to become the Mets' general manager last month.

Blake Snell of the Rays narrowly beat out past winners Justin Verlander of the Astros and Corey Kluber of the Indians for his first AL Cy Young after leading the majors with 21 victories. "To be a Cy Young Award victor, you're in great company, and it truly is an honour".

English FA plan to limit overseas players due to Brexit
The clubs will be given the full details of the proposal at a meeting of chairmen in London tomorrow. At the moment, EPL clubs can carry as many as 17 foreign players on their 25-man first-team squads.

DeGrom finished 10-9 with a major league-best 1.70 ERA and 269 strikeouts in 217 innings. Mark Didtler, an AP freelancer, had Verlander third while Bill Madden of the New York Daily News had Verlander in fourth place behind Blake Treinen.

For the first time since 2015, Max Scherzer is not the NL Cy Young Award victor. Kluber had 71 points, followed by Boston's Chris Sale and Houston's Gerrit Cole. He got the first-place vote of John Maffei of the San Diego Union-Tribune, 29 seconds and 123 points.

The 2014 NL Rookie of the Year, he became the seventh rookie victor voted a Cy Young, joining fellow Mets Tom Seaver and Dwight Gooden. Scherzer has now finished in the top five in Cy Young voting six consecutive seasons, winning three times, finishing second once and fifth twice.

Luis Severino received one fifth place vote and finished ninth in the voting in his second full big league season.

Other reports by

Discuss This Article