Polling begins for first phase of Lok Sabha elections

Clay Curtis
April 11, 2019

Bhubaneswar: Stage is set for the grandest festival of democracy in Odisha as the four-phase Lok Sabha and Assembly polls will commence in the state from tomorrow.

Notably, Lok Sabha and Assembly elections will be held simultaneously in Odisha in four phases on April 11, 18, 23 and 29.

Voting is taking place in all parliamentary constituencies of Andhra Pradesh, Telangana, Arunachal Pradesh, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Sikkim, Andaman and Nicobar and Lakshadweep, and Uttarakhand.

Besides, voting in under way for eight seats in Uttar Pradesh, seven in Maharashtra, four in Bihar, five in Assam, four in Odisha, two each in Jammu and Kashmir and West Bengal and one seat in Chhattisgarh. The counting of votes will take place on May 23.

In Andhra Pradesh, Sikkim and Arunachal Pradesh, people are casting their votes for all the assembly constituencies.

The second phase of polling will begin on April 18 and will cover 97 constituencies across 13 states. Seven Lok Sabha seats in Maharashtra will go to polls.

Juventus next up for rising Ajax
David Neres seizes upon an error by Cancelo, races towards the left of the area and curves a wonderful shot into the far corner. Instead of licking their wounds after the sucker-punch at the end of the first-half, Ajax wasted little time in responding.

The voting time in most of the constituencies is from 7 AM to 6 PM.

A total of 1,279 candidates are int he fray, and their fate will be decided by over 14.21 crore voters.

In Telangana, Chief Minister K. Chandrashekhar Rao's daughter K. Kavihta is seeking re-election from Nizamabad, where 178 farmers who entered the fray to highlight their problems including lack of remunerative prices for their produce. State Congress chief Raghuveera Reddy is contesting from Kalyandurg Assembly constituency. Union Ministers, General (retd) V.K. Singh and Dr. Mahesh Sharma are also contesting from Ghaziabad and Gautam Buddh Nagar (Noida).

Naidu's son Nara Lokesh is making his electoral debut, contesting for Assembly from Mangalagiri in capital region of Amaravati.

YSR Congress chief YS Jaganmohan Reddy, an aspirant for the CM's post, is fighting from his family's pocketborough Pulivendula. The state has 34,603 polling stations including 5,749 sensitive stations.

Other reports by

Discuss This Article