Paul George, Trae Young among National Basketball Association awards finalists

Tanya Simon
May 20, 2019

Neither Antetokounmpo nor George has won an MVP award. Antetokounmpo and George were both listed as finalists for NBA MVP and Defensive Player of the Year.

Reigning NBA MVP James Harden of the Houston Rockets is one of three finalists shortlisted for the award for the 2018-2019 season.

The NBA MVP race had always been viewed as a two-way competition between Harden and Antetokounmpo. Budenholzer captured the award in 2014-15 when he was with the Atlanta Hawks.

Thunder forward Paul George is among the finalists for the NBA's Most Valuable Player and Defensive Player of the Year awards, as announced by the league Friday. George was selected Most Improved in 2012-13, and Antetokounmpo was honoured in 2016-17. The Greek Freak ranked third in the Association in scoring (27.7 points), sixth in rebounds (12.5), 11th in field-goal percentage (57.8 percent), and 10th in rejections (1.53). His average of 4.1 assists matched his career best.

Novak Djokovic at Italian Open
Djokovic has won 13 of the last 16 meetings against Nadal, but his last loss came in last years Italian Open. I just played great match, I think.

Reigning MVP Harden led the National Basketball Association in scoring, averaging 36.1 points per game, which was the highest mark since Michael Jordan averaged 37.1 points in the 1986-87 season. He added 6.6 rebounds, 7.5 assists and two steals while playing 78 games.

The NBA announced three finalists for six individual award categories, based on voting results from a panel of sportswriters and broadcasters.

The winners will be revealed at the NBA Awards show June 24 in Los Angeles (8 p.m., TNT).

Other reports by

Discuss This Article