Doncic, Young unanimous All-Rookie picks

Tanya Simon
May 23, 2019

Luka Doncic and Trae Young headline the 18-19 NBA All-Rookie First Team with both players voted unanimously.

Huerter, who was drafted No. 19 overall by the Atlanta Hawks last June, was the first former Terp to be chosen to the league's top rookie teams since Steve Francis was on the first team in 1999-2000. It's only the second time the top five selections in the National Basketball Association draft were named to All-Rookie first team.

Though a few other rookies had strong cases for inclusion on the second team (Mikal Bridges, Bruce Brown, Allonzo Trier, Rodions Kurucs and Jalen Brunson spring to mind), Huerter was clearly a deserving choice - as he was one of the best players on the Atlanta Hawks in the 2018-19 season. (159 points; 60 First Team votes) and Sacramento Kings forward Marvin Bagley III (156 points; 56 First Team votes).

Verizon Galaxy S10 series gets April 2019 security patch update
The result is a thinner camera module that features over double the focal length of the 2x zoom module. Lastly, the Note 10 is rumored to have no buttons; a camera on the S Pen; and four rear cameras.

Among all rookies Luka ranked first in scoring, second in rebounding, second in assists, and fifth in steals. Thirty-four years ago, the NBA All-Rookie Team honorees were Hakeem Olajuwon (No. 1 pick in 1984), Sam Bowie (No. 2), Michael Jordan (No. 3), Sam Perkins (No. 4) and Charles Barkley (No. 5). He became the only Maverick to win the Rookie of the Month Award four-plus times in a season and the first player from either conference to sweep the award since Minnesota's Karl-Anthony Towns in 2015-16. Also on the second team were a pair of Los Angeles Clippers, Shai Gilgeous-Alexander and Landry Shamet, along with Cleveland's Collin Sexton and New York's Mitchell Robinson. Although both rookies have had truly spectacular first National Basketball Association seasons and are deserving of the only two players in the conversation for Rookie of the Year, this is really a one man race.

The victor will be named at the 2019 NBA Awards in Los Angeles on 24 June. The third annual NBA Awards, honoring this season's top performers, will take place at Barker Hangar in Los Angeles.

Other reports by

Discuss This Article