Chileans and Argentines Ready to View Total Solar Eclipse

Katie Ramirez
July 3, 2019

It's the turn of South America to enjoy the spectacle of a total solar eclipse.

You may not experience a "total eclipse of the heart" today, but you may be able to catch a glimpse of the solar eclipse. We have one Sun and one Moon - only two discs in the sky that mean anything to us here on planet earth - and I think it is more than a coincidence that while one is 400 times larger. Most of the path is over the open ocean, and the moon will extinguish full sunlight for four minutes, 33 seconds in path of totality.

However, this time total solar eclipse will not be visible in India.

While people will be thronging to Chile to witness the solar eclipse, teams of scientists will be studying the atmosphere of the Sun and Earth in the fleeting moments of daylight darkness.

The path of totality for July 2, 2019.

Children test out special binoculars to view tomorrow's total solar eclipse near Central Park in La Higuera, Chile on July 1, 2019.

The eclipse will be going through a 6,800-mile path, but only a narrow zone of the Pacific Ocean and South America comes in the path of totality.

Trump Says Tanks Will Be Part of July 4th Celebration in Washington
The event will be open to the public free of charge, apart from a ticketed area for VIPs in front of the Lincoln Memorial. Critics of Mr Trump said his involvement in 4 July amounts to a partisan takeover of a national holiday.

Town officials distributed more than 2,000 cardboard-frame protective eyeglasses at local schools and community centers while workers built statues of huge sunglasses and a darkened sun on a local square.

When is the total solar eclipse?

.

Although the eclipse will not be seen in India, according to mythical beliefs, it will still have its impact on Earth and its people.

The best views this time were from Chile's sprawling Atacama desert north of the coastal city of La Serena, where a lack of humidity and city lights combine to create the world's clearest skies. Slooh is a robotic telescope service that offers live views from a variety of observatories.

If you want to take a picture of the solar eclipse, you will need a DSLR camera to get it right. Every astronomer will tell you to enjoy this rare opportunity. In the USA the toal solar eclipse will be at, in NY at 16:38 EDT, Chicago at 15:38 CDT, Denver at 14:38 MDT and Los Angeles 13:38 PDT.

But there's one thing you shouldn't do, and that's look at the sun with your naked eye.

The instant the Moon begins to move from the Sun you have to use safe viewing techniques.

Other reports by

Discuss This Article

FOLLOW OUR NEWSPAPER