New Ministers Join Goa Cabinet, Including 3 Congress Defectors

Clay Curtis
July 13, 2019

Lobo himself indicated that while accommodating new entrants, Chief Minister Pramod Sawant is likely to drop all three MLAs of the BJP ally Goa Forward Party (GFP) and one independent. "Considering all the reasons, the central leadership has taken a decision that four members of the BJP should now be made ministers." chief minister Sawant told reporters at the airport after returning from New Delhi.

Speculations are rife that former leader of opposition Chandrakant Kavlekar, Philip Nery Rodrigues and Atanasio Monserratte would be inducted in the cabinet along with Deputy Speaker Michael Lobo. The three GFP ministers who have been asked to resign are Vijai Sardesai, Vinod Palyekar, and Jayesh Salgaonkar and the Independent MLA is Rohan Khaunte.

Mr Lobo is the fourth minister to be inducted in the cabinet expansion.

While senior leaders like Siddaramaiah, Deputy Chief Minister G. Parameshwara and the ministers are staying at their official bungalows in the city, other legislators whose assembly segments are outside Bengaluru and across the state have been shifted to the resort though many of them have rooms in the Legislature Home behind the Vidhan Soudha in the city centre. Clearly, the saffron party now doesn't need the Goa Forward Party's support for the survival of its government.

"@Goaforwardparty is part of the NDA and had joined the BJP-led state government after talks with the national leadership of the @BJP4India".

FTC Facebook settlement: $5 billion fine reported for user privacy violations
At issue was whether Facebook violated a 2011 settlement with the FTC over user privacy. Democrats on the commission were "pushing for tougher oversight", the Journal wrote.

In his tweet, Swamy stated that the solution to the problem is to ask "Italians and progeny" to leave. "I am not here to sit in power, I appeal to you that in light of the developments I want to move a trust motion". The Congress had emerged as the single largest party in Goa following the assembly elections in 2017.

After the induction of the ten Congress legislators, BJP's strength in the state legislative assembly has now increased to 27, which is six more than the required figure of 21 in the 40-member House.

However, the discord within the BJP was clear soon after the party welcomed the Congress legislators.

The Supreme Court on Friday ordered the speaker of the Karnataka legislative assembly to maintain status quo in connection with the resignation and disqualification of 10 rebel legislators of the coalition government of Janata Dal (Secular) or JD (S) and the Congress party.

The cabinet reshuffle in Goa comes as the Congress-JDS coalition in Karnataka struggles to survive after the resignation of 18 lawmakers.

Other reports by

Discuss This Article