Elena Delle Donne, A'ja Wilson named WNBA All-Star captains

Tanya Simon
July 14, 2019

The league announced Thursday during ESPN's "The Jump" broadcast the ten players who will start in the WNBA All-Star Game.

The top two vote getters, frontcourt players Elle Delle Donne of the Washington Mystics and A'ja Wilson of Las Vegas, will act as captains for two teams and draft their rosters next week.

Other starters included Chelsea Gray (Los Angeles), Brittney Griner (Phoenix), Jewell Loyd, Natasha Howard (both Seattle), and Jonquel Jones (Connecticut).

The 12 reserves for AT&T WNBA All-Star 2019, as selected by the league's head coaches, will be announced on Monday, July 15 (Tuesday, July 16, PHL time). Fan votes were worth, collectively, 50%, while player votes were worth 25%, as were media votes. Coaches can vote for all but their own players, selecting three guards, five frontcourt players and four others at any position.

The starters were selected through voting from fans, WNBA players themselves, and WNBA media members. This season, Delle Donne has earned two Player of the Week honors and was named the WNBA's Eastern Conference Player of the Month for June. The Washington Mystics star led the fan balloting. League-wide, she is fourth in total minutes played (494) and seventh in points (240).

Amazon Music Unlimited Growing Faster Than Apple Music and Spotify
Spotify are launching in Russian Federation after teasing them for years , and they're taking Apple Music on at a price level. Commenting on the story, Amazon Music VP Steve Boom said, "We're not battling for the same customers as everyone else".

Thibault is coaching his third All-Star Game.

Wilson was the only rookie named to last year's All-Star Game and wound up coming off the bench, scoring 18 points and earning some MVP buzz.

This year's contest will take place on July 27 in Las Vegas at home arena of Wilson's Aces. Washington (9-5, .643) is guaranteed to have the second-best record through July 12. One year later, he led the East to a 98-82 win over the West in the 2006 All-Star Game in NY.

Thibault, a three-time WNBA Coach of the Year (2006, 2008, 2013), also will serve as an All-Star Game head coach for the third time. One year later, he led the East to a 98-82 win over the West in the 2006 All-Star Game in NY.

Other reports by

Discuss This Article