Here’s Why The ‘Game Of Thrones’ Creators Backed Out Of Comic-Con

Brenda Watkins
July 19, 2019

There were other notable withdrawals from the same panel, with director Miguel Sapochnik, and actors Iain Glen (Jorah Mormont) and Nathalie Emmanuel (Missandei) all pulling out, with no reasons given so far. Coming off of a relatively disappointing run of later seasons, especially the divisive eighth season, many questioned the decision for the contentious writers to appear at a panel potentially attended by disgruntled fans. The panelists still scheduled to speak include Nikolaj Coster-Waldau (Jaime Lannister), Maisie Williams (Arya Stark), Isaac Hempstead Wright (Bran Stark), Jacob Anderson (Grey Worm), Liam Cunningham (Davos Seaworth), John Bradley (Samwell Tarly), and Conleth Hill (Varys).

David Benioff and DB Weiss had been set to take part in the event on Friday, which was described as a "triumphant celebration" of the record-breaking series after its last episode aired in May.

If you're still heading to Hall H, though, there's still plenty of cast members to get excited about.

Young Thug says Lil Nas X shouldn't have come out
That music video has been viewed more that 200 million times since its release in May. So I was like: 'F***, he should have never said that, never should have told them'".

At San Diego Comic-Con 2019, fans will get to pay tribute and bid farewell to the cult series, Game of Thrones.

Based on the best-selling novel series by George R.R. Martin, the series' ensemble cast includes Emmy and Golden Globe victor Peter Dinklage (Tyrion Lannister), Lena Headey (Cersei Lannister), Emilia Clarke (Daenerys Targaryen), Kit Harington (Jon Snow), Sophie Turner (Sansa Stark), Maisie Williams (Arya Stark), Nikolaj Coster-Waldau (Jaime Lannister) and Iain Glen (Jorah Mormont).

The event would have been the first public appearance by the showrunners since the series finale in May.

Other reports by

Discuss This Article