Ethiopian PM Abiy Ahmed wins 2019 Nobel Peace Prize

Clay Curtis
October 11, 2019

The deadline for nominations for the awards was in February, but the Nobel committee can add names to its list after its closing.

"Ethiopian Prime Minister Abiy Ahmed Ali has been awarded this year's Nobel Peace Prize for his efforts to achieve peace and worldwide cooperation, and in particular for his decisive initiative to resolve the border conflict with neighboring Eritrea", the Norwegian Nobel Committee said in its citation.

Ethiopia is a country of many different languages and peoples.

Ethiopian prime ministerAbiy Ahmed, who helped bring an end to his country's two-decade long conflict with Eritrea over a disputed border which has seen several million displaced and tens of thousands killed, is another strong contender.

"The committee hopes that the 2019 Nobel Peace Prize will strengthen Prime Minister Abiy in his important work for peace and reconciliation", tweeted The Nobel Prize.

Other notable Nobel Peace Prize winners include former US President Jimmy Carter (2002), child education activist Malala Yousafzai (shared 2014), the European Union (2012), the United Nations and its then-general-secretary, Kofi Annan, (shared 2001) and Saint Teresa of Calcutta (1979).

With the prize comes a $918,000 USA cash award, a gold medal and a diploma. "The Norwegian Nobel Committee believes it is now that Abiy Ahmed's efforts deserve recognition and need encouragement".

Essential wants to reframe your perspective on mobiles; the result looks promising
The few photos and brief video of " Project Gem " released so far focus on the unusual form factor more than the interface. According to their Twitter post , Essential have been now working on the above phone which has been titled " ProjectGEM ".

Ethiopian Prime Minister Office issued a statement to express pride of Mr. Abiy Ahmed, saying he achieved tremendous peaceful actions on the national and regional levels.

Who are previous Nobel Peace Prize winners?

Last year, the award - consisting of a gold medal, a diploma, and nine million Swedish kronor (S$1.4 million) - was given to two champions fighting sexual violence, Congolese gynaecologist Denis Mukwege and Yazidi activist Nadia Murad.

Nobel Laureates will receive their prize in Oslo, Norway on December 10 - the anniversary of prize founder Alfred Nobel's death. At 97 years old, Dr Goodenough became the oldest person in history to win a Nobel Prize.

The announcement of Abiy as this year's Peace laureate was made in Oslo on Friday morning.

He was named as the victor of the 100th Nobel Peace Prize in Oslo, where he will receive the award in December.

The economics prize wasn't created by Nobel, but by Sweden's central bank in 1968.

Other reports by

Discuss This Article