IOS 13.2 will let you delete your Siri history

Ruben Fields
October 15, 2019

Apple has introduced an important change in the privacy settings of iOS-powered devices, allowing iPhone and iPad users to opt-out of sharing audio recordings and added the ability to delete their Siri and Dictation history. You can manage third-party keyboards as Gboard or SwiftKey, or use stand-alone apps, or they can request full entrance to your OS to interact with other apps on your device to give further innovations. The scale of the operation was huge, with contractors listening to up to 1, (*************************************************************************************************) Siri recordings a day.

Those upgrading to iOS 13.2 will see a new splash screen that clearly explains how the Siri recordings were being used. Considering how much Apple talks about protecting users privacy, this is obviously very disappointing.

There had been a lot of controversies early on about how Apple has been recording your conversations with Siri for human testers to hear and improve the voice assistant's reliability.

This is a major step in the right direction for Apple, which now puts users back in control of their data.

Elizabeth Warren escalates Facebook ad feud
Warren has always been a critic of the tech giant, vowing to break up it and other Silicon Valley behemoths . And earlier this week, she said Facebook "already helped elect Donald Trump once".

I'm glad that Apple is adding this feature, and given its privacy stance I'm surprised it's a feature we don't already have.

Of course, iOS 13 2 is still in beta, so it's possible this crucial new Siri feature will not come with the actual launch.

"Users will be able to opt in to help Siri improve by learning from the audio samples of their requests", Apple said earlier this year. "Data that has been inspected to help develop Siri and Dictation is no longspun linked with this iPhone and will not be deleted", Apple says.

Apple has just released the second beta of iOS 13.2, which introduces a slew of new and enhanced features created to improve the iPhone experience. This option will allow users to remove any "interactions now associated with this iPhone from Apple servers".

Other reports by

Discuss This Article

FOLLOW OUR NEWSPAPER