Rock Hall Announces Nominees for the Class of 2020

Brenda Watkins
October 15, 2019

The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame has revealed its nominees for induction in 2020, including newcomers Dave Matthews Band, Soundgarden, Whitney Houston, The Doobie Brothers, Notorious B.I.G. The other seven are attempting to land in the hall after previous tries: Rufus featuring Chaka Khan, Kraftwerk, Judas Priest, Depeche Mode, Nine Inch Nails, MC5 and Todd Rundgren. Rex, and Thin Lizzy.

The Notorious B.I.G. - a pride of NY, widely considered one of the greatest rappers of all time - was nominated in his first year of eligibility, which comes 25 years after the release of an act's first commercial recording.

As has become tradition, the Hall of Fame has announced the individual members of each band that will be inducted.

Notes Rolling Stone, "To be eligible for this year's ballot, each nominee's first single or album had to be released in 1994 or earlier".

Strike Pay for GM Workers Increased As Strike Continues
This is not the first time a counterproposalhas been offered. "$250 strike pay doesn't exactly allow for new clothing". If this strike lasts through the end of the year, the pay is slated to go up an extra $25 in January.

Fans will be able to vote once a day through January 10, 2020, and pick up to five nominees per ballot. Fans can cast their vote for this new slate of inductees via Google, at, or at the museum.

Current Dave Matthews Band members Dave Matthews, Stefan Lessard, Carter Beauford, Tim Reynolds, Rashawn Ross and Jeff Coffin were selected along with former violinist Boyd Tinsley and deceased saxophonist LeRoi Moore.

For The Doobie Brothers, the rock hall recognized Tom Johnston, Patrick Simmons, John McFee, John Hartman, Michale Hossack, Tiran Porter, Keith Knudsen, Jeff "Skunk" Baxter, and Michael McDonald as the nominated band lineup. Chaka Khan, with and without the group Rufus, and Kraftwerk have both been up six times. Fans, now's your time to cast your first ballot in the Klipsch Audio Fan Vote. Fan balloting adds only one vote apiece for the top five vote-getters, but public sentiment can affect the hall's voting membership, which consists of artists, managers, record industry personnel and music critics.

Other reports by

Discuss This Article