Kaun Banega Crorepati: Netizens demand a boycott, heres why

Brenda Watkins
November 8, 2019

The controversy erupted when a question was asked in the show about the contemporaries of Aurangzeb.

Kaun Banega Crorepati 11 is in the news once again.

The four answers suggested for the question were: "Maharana Pratap, Rana Sanga, Maharaja Ranjit Singh and Shivaji".

When the episode aired, a lot of people took to their social media pages to bash the makers and Sony TV for not adding any prefix to Chhatrapati Shivaji's name.

However, Sony TV has recently issued an apology over the same and expressed their regret. Moreover, the Mughal ruler in question, was referred to as the "emperor", making the lack of a title for Shivaji even more insulting.

Iran downs 'unknown' drone over Persian Gulf port
The official and Iranian news outlets did not say which country it came from or whether it was a military or civilian drone . In that episode, Washington said the aircraft was in global airspace, but Iran maintains it was over its territorial waters.

FOllowing the outrage, Sony TV apologised for the incident on Twitter and tagged Amitabh Bachhan. Today, a message doing rounds in media also stated that Rashtrawadi Congress will be demonstrating in front of the Sony office to demand an apology.

"There was an inaccurate reference to Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj during yesterday's episode, due to inadvertence".

A source close to KBC shared with indianexpress.com, "It was a human error". Soon enough, a Twitter hashtag was generated as demands for an apology also grew. KBC hosted by megastar Amitabh Bachchan has always become the talk of the town in every season, for the players who bagged big winning amounts from the show.

Bankrolled by Studio NEXT, Kaun Banega Crorepati 11, till now, has seen three crorepati winners in Sanoj Raj, Babita Tade and Gautam Kumar Jha.

Other reports by

Discuss This Article