Sooners' Jalen Hurts named Heisman Trophy finalist

Tanya Simon
December 10, 2019

The four players represent three of the teams chosen to play in this year's College Football Playoff.

In 13 games, Hurts threw for 3,634 yards with 32 touchdowns and seven interceptions and rushed for 1,255 yards and 18 scores.

Hurts seems unlikely to make it three, as LSU's Joe Burrow is expected to win the award handily.

Jalen Hurts has had a historic senior season after transferring from Alabama to Oklahoma in January.

Quarterbacks have dominated the Heisman over the last two decades, winning 16 of the last 19 trophies, dating back to 2000.

Hurts is second behind Jack Mildren in 1971 for single season rushing yards by an OU quarterback, needing just 35 yards to break his record. Fields and Young are the first teammates to be finalists since Oklahoma had quarterback Baker Mayfield and receiver Dede Westbrook at the Heisman ceremony in 2016. Burrow has already set an Southeastern Conference record with 48 touchdown passes and is on pace to set an NCAA record for completion percentage at 77.9%.

First Alert Forecast: warm, breezy Monday; cold rain Tuesday
The wind also picks up tonight pushing wind chills into the single digits both above and below-zero for the morning commute. At this time, the most significant snowfall looks to occur across southeast Kentucky, but we will be watching that closely.

Hubbard led the FBS in rushing yards, rushing yards per game, yards after contact (via Pro Football Focus), all-purpose yards, all-purpose yards per game and rushes of at least 20, 30. He now holds the record for most passing yards and touchdowns in a single season by an SEC quarterback.

Hurts is tied for the national lead for points responsible for, with 308. This year he is second in the nation with 1.909 yards rushing and leads with 26 touchdowns.

Unlike the 2017 Heisman Trophy victor Baker Mayfield and 2018 Heisman Trophy victor Kyler Murray, Hurts is not expected to win the award heading into Saturday's presentation.

Oklahoma has had 11 finalists for the award since finalists were first named in 1982, the most in the nation, and the Sooners are the first school to have five finalists in a four-year span. The 60-year gap between Heisman winners would be the longest for any school with multiple recipients.

The Heisman Trophy victor will be officially announced on Saturday, December 14 during a 7:00 pm telecast.

Other reports by

Discuss This Article