BCCI Annual Awards: Bumrah receives Polly Umrigar and Dilip Sardesai awards

Tanya Simon
January 14, 2020

Along with the award, he would also receive a cash prize of Rs. 15 lakhs. Chetshwar Pujara also got the Dilip Sardesai award for being the highest run-getter in Test cricket. Dube scored 632 runs at 52.67 in eight matches with two centuries and three half-centuries besides taking 23 wickets at 23.21.

Bumrah began their Test career in January 2018 on Team India's tour of South Africa. He scalped 21 wickets during the 2018-19 Border-Gavaskar trophy, a series in which India made history by beating Australia on their soil for the first time in 71 years.

This award is another another feather in the leg spinner's cap Poonam who recently received the Arjuna Award by President Ram Nath Kovind on the occasion of National Sports Day a year ago. The 34 wickets from six Tests had an average of 14.02, including three five-wicket hauls and his best figures of 6/27.

The award shall be one other feather within the leg-spinner's cap who just lately acquired the Arjuna Award.

Former India captains Krishnamachari Srikkanth and Anjum Chopra were presented the Col CK Nayudu Lifetime Achievement Award and the BCCI Lifetime Achievement Award for women, respectively.

Broncos fire offensive coordinator Rich Scangarello after one season in Denver
The Broncos position was not open until Sunday, when Rich Scangarello was sacked after one season. Pat Shurmur is a strong candidate for the vacancy offensive coordinator of #Broncos, I am told.

A member of the 1983 World Cup-winning team, Srikkanth took on the fearsome West Indies fast bowlers and scored an attacking 38, the top individual score in the low-scoring final at the Lord's. During his tenure, the squad was selected for the 2011 World Cup. In a profession spanning 17 years, Anjum represented India in 4 50-over World Cups and two T20 World Cup (performed in a single).

His Test teammate Mayank Agarwal has been rewarded for a stellar year, getting the best global debut award in the men's category.

India's middle-order batsmwoman Deepti Sharma acquired the Jagmohan Dalmiya Trophy for greatest girl cricketer in senior home circuit whereas Shafali was picked for honour within the junior class. Vidarbha were rewarded for best performance in BCCI domestic tournaments.

BCCI President Sourav Ganguly while speaking about about these honors stated, "The BCCI Award is a unique field performance for every age group in our country and a recognition of our legends".

"We wanted to make Naman bigger and better, and we launched four new categories this year - the highest run getters and wicket takers in WODIs and the best global debut men and women".

Other reports by

Discuss This Article