Protesters Worldwide Voice Support for US Demonstrators

Ruben Fields
June 1, 2020

1 p.m. PT, 2 p.m. MT, 3 p.m. CT, 4 p.m. ET, 5 p.m.

Newsom also authorized assistance after a request from the city and county of Los Angeles, and will deploy members of the National Guard to assist Los Angeles and neighboring communities, according to a statement released by the governor's office Saturday night.

Some rallies have turned violent as demonstrators blocked traffic, set fires and clashed with riot police, some of whom fired tear gas and plastic bullets in an effort to restore order.

Several US cities have imposed curfews.

You Can Now Schedule Your Tweet Via Twitter’s Web App
When composing a tweet , you should see a little calendar icon on the bottom row of icons at the bottom of the compose window. When you are in the middle of writing a tweet and have to leave it midway for some reason, you can now save it as a draft .

In an extraordinary move, the Pentagon said it put military units on a four-hour alert to be ready if requested by the Minnesota governor to help keep the peace.

Hundreds of demonstrators have broken lockdown rules in Britain gathering in London's Trafalgar Square in support of USA protesters in their rage against the killing of a black man by a Minneapolis police officer last Monday.

In another video, hundreds can be seen kneeling for George Floyd - a move known to have been made by American football player Colin Kaepernick, who notoriously knelt for other two victims of police brutality, Terence Crutcher and Keith Lamont Scott from 2016.

Russian Federation said Floyd's death was an example of USA police violence against African-Americans and accused the US of "systemic problems in the human rights sphere". "And his body will be returning to this city", Turner said. "And we'll stop it cold". Houston Mayor Sylvester Turner said at a news conference that Floyd's body would be coming back to Houston but provided no additional details.

Other reports by

Discuss This Article

FOLLOW OUR NEWSPAPER