Kenyans banned from travelling to Europe

Clay Curtis
June 30, 2020

The United States, Brazil, and Russian Federation were also exempted from the approved list.

The EU is set to announce a list of third countries which it will be reopening its external borders to, as COVID-19 restrictions are relaxed.

European Union envoys on Friday were close to finalising a list of countries whose citizens will be allowed to enter Europe again but failed to agree on a common list of the countries.

A qualified majority of EU countries - at least 55% of the EU countries, representing 65% of the EU population - have signed off on list.

A qualified majority of European Union countries have signed off on list, she reports. China could be added to the list, subject to reciprocity, the EU Council said in a statement.

However, the health-based criteria has collided with geopolitics, with some countries reluctant to collectively ban the U.S. while welcoming visitors from China, where the pandemic began.

Attitudes to Russian Federation remained largely unchanged, other than in Italy, where almost a quarter of respondents said they perceived the country more positively as a result of the pandemic.

Trump's 'sadistic' phone calls to female world leaders revealed, CNN reports
Carl Bernstein has reported to CNN how Trump verbally abuses world leaders in private phone calls. When it came to dealing with women foreign leaders, like U.K.

The EU is working on two lists - countries to be forbidden and countries to be allowed - after setting a set of several epidemiological criteria for assessing eligibility in the list of entry.

"We'll work closely with our European friends, broadly, because I know there's different views", Secretary of State Mike Pompeo said, Thursday.

European Union officials have been quick to point out that decisions on who can and cannot enter the bloc are not political, but based on science that allows member states to keep their citizens safe.

In Bangladesh, attack rate as on June 22, is 67.9 per one million and all 64 districts with the total population of 17,03,06,468 people have confirmed COVID-19 cases, according to World Health Organization situation report 17.

The EU's efforts to reopen internal borders, particularly among the 26-nation Schengen area which normally has no frontier checks, have been patchy as various countries have restricted access for certain visitors.

Citizens from the following countries will be allowed into the EU's 27 members and four other nations in Europe's visa-free Schengen travel zone: Algeria, Australia, Canada, Georgia, Japan, Montenegro, Morocco, New Zealand, Rwanda, Serbia, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisia and Uruguay.

Other reports by

Discuss This Article