Pakistanis not permitted to enter European Union as borders set to reopen

Clay Curtis
June 30, 2020

The EU is set to announce a list of third countries which it will be reopening its external borders to, as COVID-19 restrictions are relaxed.

An update of the countries on the entry list to Europe include Algeria, Australia, Canada, Georgia, Japan, Montenegro, Morocco, and New Zealand.

Russian Federation and the United States were not included into the list, in line with epidemiological criteria.

Euro News citing sources said that European Union officials failed to agree on a common list of the countries that would definitely be banned from entering the block upon the border reopening but managed to create a list of the countries with a better epidemiological situation, the citizens of which will be able to enter Europe by the end of next week.

The safe country list would be reviewed every 14 days, with new countries being added and some possibly dropping off, depending on how the spread of the disease is being managed.

The United States, which continues to record a high number of Coronavirus cases is also not on the list.

Covid-19 pandemic not even close to being over
On Monday a state of emergency was declared in the capital Brasilia, following a surge there. Non-essential shops will close from Tuesday and, as will schools from Thursday.

The European travel ban has been in place since 17 March due to coronavirus. Four EU diplomats said they expected it to secure the required backing.

European Union has revealed the new list of countries that will be permitted to enter the EU from July 1, when the external borders are officially scheduled to be reopened, but the U.S. is excluded due to the Coronavirus developments. There are now 15 countries on the draft list for the border to be reopened.

A qualified majority of EU countries - at least 55% of the EU countries, representing 65% of the EU population - have signed off on list.

Although the border controls remain under the jurisdiction of each member state, the European Union, due to the free movement in the Schengen area, strives to coordinate the question on travellers from outside the block during the crisis as much as possible.

Greece is mandating COVID-19 tests for arrivals from a range of European Union countries, including France, Italy, the Netherlands and Spain, with self-isolation until results are known.

Other reports by

Discuss This Article