Coronavirus: EU to allow entry to citizens of Algeria, Morocco and Tunisia

Clay Curtis
July 1, 2020

The Commission also recommended that from July 1, the Member States should start permitting third-country nationals to enter the European Union, if the COVID-19 situation permits such a step to be taken.

The list of countries included in the recommendations are: Algeria, Australia, Canada, Georgia, Japan, Montenegro, Morocco, New Zealand, Rwanda, Serbia, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisia, Uruguay. That means if a citizen of Spain happens to be living in Chicago, they'll be treated the same as anyone else living in the United States.

"We are entering a new phase with a targeted opening of our external borders as of tomorrow", European Council President Charles Michel, who chairs summits of EU national leaders, tweeted.

Others who did not feature on the listOther big countries like China, Russia, India and Brazil also did not find a spot on EU's safe list for travel.

In normal times, its 27 member states are free to travel and trade, much like we can go state-to-state in the U.S.

Greece opened its borders to global travel on June 15 to the mainland, with island airports slated to open on 2 July, and will test visitors for Covid-19 coming from France, Italy, the Netherlands and Spain.

The European Union announced on Tuesday that it will gradually lift the temporary restrictions on 14 countries that were travel was previously halted due to the coronavirus pandemic.

Countries considered for the safe list are also expected to lift any bans they might have in place on European travelers.

U.S. could see 100000 new Covid-19 cases per day, Fauci says
In lengthy remarks, he railed against "central planning" and "political correctness" in evaluating and responding to the virus. A large part of the hospitalizations we're seeing now ... some are very serious cases and deaths involving younger Americans.

Regarding the epidemiological situation, third countries listed should meet several criteria, including the number of new Covid-19 cases, stable or decreasing trend of new cases, as well as the third country's overall response to Covid-19.

The EU said China is "subject to confirmation of reciprocity", meaning Beijing must also lift restrictions on European travelers before being added to the safe list.

A qualified majority means at least 55% of the European Union countries, representing 65% of the European Union population.

In March, President Donald Trump suspended all people from Europe´s ID check-free travel zone from entering the US, making it unlikely now that USA citizens would qualify to enter the EU.

However, the health-based criteria has collided with geopolitics, with some countries reluctant to collectively ban the U.S. while welcoming visitors from China, where the pandemic began.

The EU says that it will review and update the list every two weeks.

An EU diplomat told CNN that it was very "unlikely" travelers from the United States would be allowed in, adding that even though the list had not been finalized "the US's chances are close to zero".

Other reports by

Discuss This Article