Travelers from United States Officially Barred from Entering European Union

Clay Curtis
July 1, 2020

The list of countries included in the recommendations are: Algeria, Australia, Canada, Georgia, Japan, Montenegro, Morocco, New Zealand, Rwanda, Serbia, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisia, Uruguay.

It acts as a recommendation to European Union members, meaning they could set restrictions on those entering from the 14 nations and will nearly certainly not allow access to travellers from other countries.

European Commission introduced its recommendation for the reopening of internal Schengen borders on June 15, so the citizens of European countries would be eligible to travel within the Schengen Zone freely, as they did before the Coronavirus outbreak.

The European Union has approved a list of 14 "safe" countries - from July 1, their citizens will be able to travel to the Old Continent.

Travelers in countries that did not make the list can still enter if they fall under the following exemptions: EU citizens or family members of an EU citizen; long-term EU residents or family members; those with an "essential function or need", such as diplomats, healthcare workers or certain agricultural workers.

Facebook Boycott Grows: Ford Joins Coca-Cola, Starbucks And Other Brands
It will also start to label content that may violate their policies if it is deemed newsworthy. Both have signed up to stop buying ads on the world's largest social media platform for July.

The original goal was to reopen to countries with an epidemiological situation "comparable or better" than that in the bloc - that is with 16 or fewer cases of COVID-19 per 100,000 inhabitants over the past two weeks. The list of countries will be reviewed every two weeks. However, Brazil, the United States and China are excluded from the list, BNT reported.

The news outlet reported that ambassadors from the 27 European Union members convened from Friday afternoon to establish criteria for granting quarantine-free access from next Wednesday.

However, the health-based criteria collided with national interests and geopolitics, with some countries reluctant to collectively ban the USA while welcoming visitors from China, where the pandemic began. However, today, June 29, a meeting was held in Brussels, at which they made a decision to revise the list and reduced it to 15 countries.

The country's borders have been closed since mid-March in support of the efforts seeking to contain the spread of COVID-19.

Other reports by

Discuss This Article