Newcastle United confirm when their 2020/21 League Cup campaign kicks off

Tanya Simon
August 13, 2020

The English summer break has been drastically cut short this time around due to the ongoing pandemic which means the all the players and teams will have very little time to prepare for the 2020-21 Premier League season. Replays have been an important part of FA Cup tradition since the tournament's conception, offering teams in the lower leagues the chance to have a lucrative payday should they come up against a Premier League side.

The League One season will start on September 12, as previously agreed, while the EFL Trophy campaign will get underway on September 8 or 9.

"After two seasons of record levels of prize funds, the Emirates FA Cup prize fund has returned back in line with 2017-18 levels due to the financial impact of the Covid-19 pandemic".

The first round of the League Cup will be played on September 5, with the final slated for February 28.

PM Modi To Launch Transparent Taxation Platform On 13 Aug
Meanwhile, in order to eliminate human interface, the Faceless appeal on the lines of Faceless assessment will be followed. This, Modi said, will end the era of " jaan pehchan " (acquaintance) to get scrutiny or notices settled.

The competition will return on September 1, with the final set to take place at Wembley stadium on May 15 2021.

The schedule for the 2020/21 Carabao Cup has been confirmed, with Newcastle United set to enter the competition at the second round stage. Manchester City have won each of the last three finals.

It has also been announced that the Carabao Cup semi-finals, which have always been two-legged affairs, will be played over a single match in 2020-21, again to ease pressure on clubs due to the compressed schedule.

With a shortened season starting a month later than usual there is more pressure on an already compacted calendar the FA has taken the decision that all ties in the cup competition will be decided on the day. Fixtures will be revealed by August 21 for the 2020-21 season.

Other reports by

Discuss This Article