Format For 2020-21 NBA Season Brings Changes To Usual Lakers Schedule

Tanya Simon
November 21, 2020

Key dates for the 2020-'21 season as detailed in a press release from the league include preseason games from December 11-19; the First Half of the regular season from December 22-March 4; the All-Star break from March 5-10; the Second Half of the regular season from March 11-May 16; the play-in tournament from May 18-21; and the postseason from May 22 to July 22.

Each team will also play two games against teams from the opposite conference, for a total of 30.

The five teams in the Heat's division will play all five teams from the East's Atlantic division (Boston Celtics, Brooklyn Nets, New York Knicks, Philadelphia 76ers, Toronto Raptors) twice on the road and once at home.

⇒ All five teams from within a division will play all five teams from one other intraconference division, twice at home, and all five teams from the remaining intraconference division twice on the road.

Within each team's division, the league has already assigned which opponents will be played twice at home, and which will be played twice on the road.

Before the schedule is released, the opponent breakdown for the regular season can be found here. The schedule for the First Half of the season will be released around the beginning of training camp.

In case a game has to be rescheduled during the first part of the season, it can be added to the second half's schedule.

GTA Online has triple rewards for all land races this week
Rockstar has confirmed that this heist can be approached in many different ways, with the ability to choose your own tools, plan and crew.

While that was a whopping 10 games back of eight seed Orlando, Cleveland was only four games behind Charlotte and two and a half behind Washington. -The team with the ninth-highest winning percentage in each conference will host the team with the 10th-highest winning percentage in the conference in a "Nine-Ten Game."-The loser of the "Seven-Eight Game" will host the victor of the "Nine-Ten Game" in a play-in game". 7 and 8 seeds in each conference will each get two opportunities to win one game to earn a playoff spot. All dates as per Eastern Time (ET).

The Second Half of the period will run from March 11 to May 16.

The alliance said its leading group of lead representatives consistently affirmed the play-in competition proposition on a one-year premise in a vote Thursday.

So, the teams 7 and 8 would need only to win one game in two tries while teams 9 and 10 would have to win two in a row.

The NBA's 75th regular season will start on Tuesday, Dec. 22 and feature 72 games for each team. The Portland Trail Blazers defeated the Memphis Grizzlies in that round to claim the final playoff spot and a first-round date with LeBron James and the eventual National Basketball Association champion Los Angeles Lakers.

The ninth and tenth seeds of each conference will play in the "Nine-Ten Game".

Other reports by

Discuss This Article