Time will tell if changing of the clocks continues

Clay Curtis
March 12, 2021

Since 2007, DST has begun on the second Sunday in March and ended on the first Sunday in November. Congress voted completely along party lines to approve President Joe Biden's coronavirus stimulus package, but appears uncharacteristically united on the issue of bagging the whole "spring forward, fall back" clock-changing ritual.

Nine other senators back Rubio's bill in the Senate, and it's a veritable cornucopia of bipartisan harmony, encompassing old-school conservatives like James Inhofe of Oklahoma and Roy Blunt of Missouri, Trump loyalists like Rick Scott of Florida and Bill Hagerty, of Tennessee, and progressive Democrats like Ron Wyden of OR and Ed Markey of MA.

Bicameral and bipartisan bills, appropriately called the Sunshine Protection Act, would void the necessity for Americans to ever change their clocks.

It's that time of year again, folks: Another winter has come and (mostly) gone and the spring time change is officially upon us.

Former NY Rep. Lowey: Cuomo shouldn't quit until harassment probe complete
State Attorney General Letitia James has put together an investigative team to probe Cuomo's workplace conduct. The New York City governor addressed the new accusations during a conference call this afternoon.

And since it doesn't seem like Ontario will actually be making Daylight Saving Time permanent in practice anytime soon, you can prepare to move your clocks back when DST once again comes to an end on Sunday, Nov. 7. There are also broader benefits to the economy, especially within the agricultural industry. James Lankford, R-Okla., said about the bill. "In a year that feels like it's been in complete darkness, Senator Rubio and I have provided a solution to provide more sunlight by making Daylight Saving Time permanent", Sen.

Benjamin Franklin is credited with the idea of Daylight Saving Time.

Hoitenga's legislation as introduced includes a provision that would only put year-round daylight saving time in effect in MI only if surrounding states - Illinois, Indiana, Ohio, Pennsylvania and Wisconsin - also observed daylight saving time all year.

According to the National Conference of State Legislatures, at least 28 states have considered legislation addressing daylight saving time, most of which would establish daylight saving time as the official time year-round. That means people in MI and around the country will be "springing forward" and losing an hour when they change their clocks.

Other reports by

Discuss This Article